India's most celebrated tennis event, the ATP tournament which acquired heritage status as the Chennai Open, has now moved to Pune and will henceforth be called the Tata Open Maharashtra.

The inaugural edition of the Tata Open Maharashtra was held in January 2018 and was the 22nd edition of the ATP 250 calendar event in India. The singles title was lifted by former ATP world number 6, Frenchman Gilles Simon, who beat the top 2 seeds Marin Cilic and Kevin Anderson on his way to victory. 

Simon also made it to the doubles final partnering with compatriot Pierre-Hugues Herbert, only to lose out to the dutch pair of  Robin Hasse and Matwé Middelkoop in straight sets.

The Aircel Chennai Open began in the year 1996 and is Asia’s oldest and one of the most prestigious ATP events, attracting the highest ranked tennis professionals from around the globe as well as promising Indian talent. This event took place in January every year and was one of the first tournaments in the world tennis calendar year.

The Chennai Open became an important fixture on India's international sporting calendar, drawing top players from across the world for 21 long years. Many of them, including Rafael Nadal who has often spoken about its importance in his journey to World No. 1, had made it their first stop every year.

India's Leander Paes and Mahesh Bhupathi forged their formidable partnership at the Chennai Open, before they went on to become one of the greatest Men’s doubles partnerships in modern history. Stan Wawrinka, Marin Cilic and Carlos Moya among the more notable players, also participated in the tournament several times, using it as a stepping stone to break into ATP's elite Top 5 list.